

October 2024

9	State Name	How to Request a State Vehicle Record
1	Alabama	Submit a records request along with any required documents through the AL MyDMV Vehicle Records Portal via the provided link: https://mydmv.revenue.alabama.gov/TAP/?link=RecordReq After the request is reviewed and approved, you will receive an email stating that the record is available for payment. There is a \$10 charge for each record. Government and Law Enforcement agencies are not charged. There is also no fee for records retrieved for court purposes. For any questions call 334-242-9000 Option 2.
2	Alaska	Persons eligible under the Driver Privacy Protection Act and Alaska statutes may obtain an Alaska Motor Vehicle Record. Complete a Request for Vehicle Record Form 851, sign, and date the form, submit payment and any required documents to the Alaska DMV. There is a \$10 fee for each record. Government agencies are not charged for this service. By Mail: Division of Motor Vehicles Attn: Research 1300 W Benson Blvd, Ste. 200 Anchorage, AK 99506-3600 By Email: doa.dmv.research@alaska.gov Forms URL: DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION (alaska.gov)
3	Arizona	If you are the owner of record on the Arizona title, you may purchase a Title and Registration Motor Vehicle Record (MVR): Online through the Motor Vehicle Record-Title and Registration request service on AZ MVD Now By mail using the Motor Vehicle Record Request form 46-4416 If you are a prospective buyer of a vehicle currently titled in Arizona, you may ask the vehicle owner to provide you with an Arizona MVR prior to purchase of the vehicle. Vehicles that have not been titled or registered in Arizona during the last 5 years may not be eligible for an MVR. A Title and Registration MVR contains the following information: Owner, vehicle, lien, and brand.



October 2024

		How to Request a State Vehicle Record
4	Arkansas	Arkansas is under the federal Driver's Privacy Protection Act and will not give out information belonging to someone else. If you need information from when you owned the vehicle you may send in a written request along with a copy of your driver's license to request the information. Your request must contain the following: • Vehicle specifics such as description of vehicle, VIN, license plate number or name with address for an alpha search. • Reason for requesting the information. • Fees are \$1.00 for owner/lien holder information and \$1.00 for each copy of documents requested such as bill of sale, contracts, etc. By Mail: Arkansas Office of Motor Vehicles Records Unit, Room 1100 PO Box 1272 Little Rock, AR 72203 By Phone: 501.682.4692 By Email: MVInformation@dfa.arkansas.gov
5	California	State of California Department of Motor Vehicles
		State of Camerina Department of Motor Commence
6	Colorado	Customers can request vehicle record information by completing a DR2489A and submitting \$2.20 for the record search. Information can be found at Vehicle Record Searches Department of Revenue - Motor Vehicle (colorado.gov)
7	Connecticut	By Mail: State of Connecticut Dept of Motor Vehicles Records Information 60 State St Wethersfield, CT 06161 By Phone: 860.263.5700



October 2024

	State Name	How to Request a State Vehicle Record
8	Delaware	<u>Vehicle Services - Division of Motor Vehicles (de.gov)</u>
9	District of Columbia	Persons eligible under D.C. Official Code §1401.01b (the D.C. Driver Privacy Protection Act ("DPPA") (D.C. Official Code §1401.01b)), may obtain an unredacted Motor Vehicle Record by mail by submitting the request, along with payment and any required documents in accordance with the DPPA by mail. By Mail: D.C. DMV PO Box 90120 Washington, DC 20090 Or, a request can be made under the same eligibility requirements through the Freedom of Information Act ("FOIA"), which should include supporting documentation DC Department of Motor Vehicles Open Government and the Freedom of Information Act. If the FOIA request is made by mail, payment should also be included. If the request is made on-line, the requestor will be informed as to how payment is to be made. There is a \$7.00 fee for a title information request. Government agencies are not charged a fee.
10	Florida	To request a Motor Vehicle record: 90510 (flhsmv.gov) For Motor Vehicle information check: Vehicle Information Check (flhsmv.gov)
11	Georgia	Form MV-20 Request for Motor Vehicle Data Georgia Department of Revenue



October 2024

	State Name	How to Request a State Vehicle Record
12	Idaho	An Idaho Motor Vehicle Record is available to individuals and businesses who can provide the vehicle identification number (VIN) and title number, and are authorized to receive this information under the federal Driver Privacy Protection Act and the provisions of Idaho Code §49-203. Complete a Request for Vehicle Record online at Idaho Transportation Department Online Services or by completing and submitting a Motor Vehicle Request Form 3374 with a signature, date, and payment. Credit Card orders may be sent via fax or email. By Mail: Idaho Department of Transportation Attn: Motor Vehicle Records PO Box 34 Boise, ID 83707-0034 By Email: DMVHelp@itd.idaho.gov Forms URL: Vehicle Services (idaho.gov)
13	Illinois	Persons eligible under the Driver Privacy Protection Act and Illinois statutes may obtain an Illinois Motor Vehicle Record. Inquiries about registration and title records should be mailed. By Mail: Secretary of State



October 2024

	State Name	How to Request a State Vehicle Record
14	Indiana	Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles Title Forms; Under the heading: "Obtaining a Vehicle or Watercraft Record" select "Request for Certified Records – State Form 53789"
15	lowa	By Mail: Iowa Department of Transportation Central Programs Bureau P.O. Box 9278 Des Moines, IA 50306-9278 Vehicle Information: Central.Vehicle@iowadot.us Records Searches: Mvd.Electronicapplicationrequest@iowadot.us Website: https://lowa Department of Transportation Vehicle Registration/Records
16	Kansas	Vehicle Records may be obtained by going online to Make a Kansas Request to Access Vehicle Records Payment - Powered by Paylt (payitgov.com) where a Vehicle Registration Record (\$15), Vehicle Title History (\$30) or Certified Title History (\$40) can be purchased. By Mail: Customers may also mail in a request (ksrevenue.gov/pdf/trdl302.pdf) with check/money order to: KDOR Titles & Registration PO BOX 2505 Topeka, KS 66611
17	Kentucky	Use form TC96-16G-Request for Motor Vehicle or Boat Record that Includes Personal Information. Government Agency Use Only found at Request for Motor Vehicle or Boat Record that Includes Personal Information (ky.gov). Submit according to mail-in directions on form. Current record retention is 5 years.
- 10		
18	Louisiana	<u>Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles</u>



October 2024

	State Name	How to Request a State Vehicle Record
19	Maine	By Mail: InforME 45 Commerce Drive, Suite 10 Augusta, Maine 04330 By Phone: 207.621.2600 or 207.512.5605 or Toll-Free 877.212.6500 By Email: info@informe.org For subscriber information: 207.621.2600 extension 038 or https://Department of the Secretary of State, State of Maine, Online Services.
20	Maryland	Maryland motor vehicle record information may be requested by submitting, by mail, an MVA Request for Record found on our website at DR-057.pdf (maryland.gov). By Mail: MDOT MVA 6601 Ritchie Hwy NE Glen Burnie MD 21062 Attn: Room 145 (for driving records) or Room 202 (for vehicle records) Instructions on how to submit the application can be found on the Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration's website at Driver and Vehicle Information - Reports and Documents - Pages (maryland.gov).
21	Massachusetts	Request a title history search Mass.gov



October 2024

	State Name	How to Request a State Vehicle Record
22	Michigan	Driver and vehicle records are released in compliance with Driver Privacy Protection Laws. For more information, visit the Michigan Department of State website at Michigan Department of State. Individual or non-account holder record requests are now submitted online by visiting Michigan Department of State. Select Online Services, and under the Additional Services box, select Record Sales Services and then select Request Records. Account holder record requests are now submitted online by visiting Michigan Department of State. Select Online Services, and under the Additional Services box, select Record Sales Services and then select Log in for Record Sales. Records are \$11 per searched record (\$12 for a certified record) and provided at no charge to Michigan Government agencies with an approved account. Bulk data is available through the List Sales Program. Address inquiries to ListSales@Michigan.gov. Bulk records are record extracts (primarily header information) and do not contain driving, title, or registration history.
23	Minnesota	Online: Forms/Documents/Manuals - Records Forms (mn.gov) By Phone: DVS Records Office 651.296.2940
24	Mississippi	Home DOR (ms.gov)



October 2024

	State Name	How to Request a State Vehicle Record
25	Missouri	If you are the owner of record on the Missouri title, you may purchase a title and/or registration motor vehicle record by completing request form 5499 Missouri Department of Revenue. Form and fee may be submitted by visiting a Missouri Motor Vehicle licensing office. Office listing and business information may be found at Missouri Department of Revenue. By Mail: Missouri Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Bureau-Record Center PO Box 2048 Jefferson City, MO 65105-2048 By E-Mail: mvrecords@dor.mo.gov Vehicle owner will receive documentation containing requested owner, vehicle, lien, and/or registration information; however, this documentation may not be used in place of the Missouri title for transfer of ownership. For information on obtaining a duplicate Missouri title, visit Missouri Department of Revenue Missing Titles/Applying for a Duplicate Title. If you are the not owner of record on the Missouri title, Missouri record information may be requested by submitting the request form and fee for each record. If personal information is requested, the requestor will submit Request for Form 5091 - Request for Motor Vehicle Records with Personal Information. When no personal information is requested, the completion of form Form 4803 - Request for Information (mo.gov) is required. Refer to form for fee assessment. Public Records Request Review - Prior to release, public record requests are reviewed for permissible uses allowed by federal and state laws. DOL will either provide you with the record information you seek or notification in writing with an explanation that prevents release of the record you seek.
26	Montana	By Email: mvdtitleinfo@mt.gov
27	Nebraska	Obtaining a Vehicle Record Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles
28	Nevada	Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles Public Records Access



October 2024

	State Name	How to Request a State Vehicle Record
29	New Hampshire	New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles
30	New Jersey	Businesses may access applications and obtain information through the NJMVC records website located at State of New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission Records . Individuals may submit a written request for a variety of records. For additional information visit New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission Certified Title Search .
31	New Mexico	https://www.mvd.newmexico.gov/dealers-auto-recyclers/access-to-nm-driver-and-vehicle-data/
32	New York	New York Department of Motor Vehicles Vehicle Registration or Title Record Abstract
33	North Carolina	North Carolina DMV Vehicle Records
34	North Dakota	North Dakota vehicle record information may be requested by submitting the Request for Vehicle Information - SFN 51269. Instructions and fees are explained on the form. Forms can be found on the NDDOT home page web site at North Dakota Transportation Forms or North Dakota Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle - Request for Vehicle Information. Complete and mail to the mailing address provided on this form.
35	Ohio	Ohio BMV Record Request Form
36	Oklahoma	Oklahoma Tax Commission



October 2024

State Name		How to Request a State Vehicle Record
37	Oregon	Oregon Driver & motor Vehicle Services
38	Pennsylvania	If you are the owner of the vehicle, you may purchase a vehicle history by downloading a Request for Vehicle Information (DL-135) from PennDOT Driver & Vehicle Services. Click on "Forms and Publications", "All Motor Vehicle Forms, Publications and FAQ's," and DL-135. Forms must be mailed to PennDOT for processing.
39	Rhode Island	Rhode Island Registrations, Plates and Titles
40	South Carolina	If you are a prospective buyer of a vehicle currently titled in South Carolina, you may request a South Carolina title history by submitting a completed Request for Vehicle Information form (Form 5027-A) located at SCDMV (scdmvonline.com). By Mail: South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles PO Box 1498 Blythewood, SC 29016-1498
41	South Dakota	Please submit to the following: motorv@state.sd.us
42	Tennessee	Persons eligible under the Driver Privacy Protection Act and Tennessee State statutes may obtain a Tennessee State Motor Vehicle Record. Complete a Vehicle Information Request, Form RV-F1313801, sign and date the form, submit payment and any required documents to the Dept. of Revenue, Vehicle Services Division. The fee depends upon what is requested, this information can be found on our form. Government agencies are not charged for this service. By Mail: Vehicle Services Division 500 Deaderick St. Nashville, TN 37243 By Email: VehicleServices.Research@tn.gov (only for government agencies)



October 2024

	State Name	How to Request a State Vehicle Record
43	Texas	The consumer must complete and sign the Request for Texas Motor Vehicle Information (Form VTR-275) located here Forms TxDMV.gov. Certify by initialing their intended use of the information on the back of the form. Submit a completed and signed Form VTR-275 with a copy of the customer's government issued photo ID, written authorization and required documentation, if applicable, by mail. Or visit a Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) Regional Service Center for assistance. Include payment (\$5.75 for title history or \$6.75 for a certified title history) in the form of a personal ded, money order, or cashier's check made payable to TxDMV. Do not mail cash. Fees are not refundable. If the requested information will be used in legal purposes, a "certified title history" is recommended. To contact the department, please visit Texas Department of Motor Vehicles.
44	Utah	Persons eligible under the Driver Privacy Protection Act and Utah State statutes may obtain a Utah State Motor Vehicle Record. Applicants must complete a Release of Protected Record Application TC-890, sign and date the form, submit payment and any required documents to the Utah Division of Motor Vehicles. There is a fee for each record requested (see form for applicable fees). Government agencies are not charged for this service. By Mail: Utah State Tax Commission Attn: Motor Vehicle Contact Center P.O. Box 30412 Salt Lake City, UT 84130 By Email: dmv.utah.gov Forms URL: https://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-890.pdf
	Vermont	https://dmv.vermont.gov/enforcement-and-safety/driving-records-requests
45		



October 2024

State Name	How to Request a State Vehicle Record	
Virginia	For a Prospective Purchaser Inquiry (PPI) on a vehicle titled in Virginia go to Home Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. On DMV's home page, go to the bottom of the page under General Information and click on Obtaining DMV Records. Once on the screen titled Obtaining DMV Records, look down the list of available transactions for Vehicle History Reports and click on the Prospective Purchaser Inquiry (PPI).	
Washington	Washington State vehicle record information may be requested by submitting a Vehicle Record Request form to the Department of Licensing. Access the DOL home page web site at Washington State Department of Licensing. Click on "Get a Form", located in the center grey part of the home page. Click on "more forms by title" then scroll down the list to find the form called "Public Record Request-Public disclosure." At the top of the form, in the first paragraph, click on the link for a complete list of public disclosure forms, DOL Public Disclosure. Scroll down this list to the second heading titled "Vehicle or boat information." Click on the second bullet in the list called "Vehicle Record Request." Complete and email, mail, or fax as indicated on the second page of this form. Or call the Vehicle/Vessel Record Disclosure unit at 360.359.4002 and we will mail or fax the form to you. Your request will be acknowledged within 5 business days of receipt. Prior to release, Vehicle/Vessel public records requests are reviewed for permissible uses allowable by federal and state laws. DOL will either provide you with the records you seek or notify you in writing with an explanation of the applicable statutory exemptions that prevent release of the records, along with an explanation of how those exemptions apply, in whole or in part.	
West Virginia	Contact our Records Management Unit at 304.926.3909 or go to <u>West Virginia DMV</u> . Download and complete form DMV100 "Request for Vehicle Information" and either mail or take to our Vehicle Services section at the main DMV office in Kanawha City, West Virginia with the applicable fees.	
	Virginia Washington	



October 2024

State Name		How to Request a State Vehicle Record
49	Wisconsin	Wisconsin vehicle record information can be requested by submitting the Vehicle/Driver Record Information Request form, MV2896 and a \$5.00 fee for each record. If personal information is being requested, the form needs to have one of the boxes checked authorizing release of personal information. Vehicle/Driver Record Information Request Additional information related to privacy of Wisconsin motor vehicle records can be found at: State of Wisconsin Department of Transportation Privacy Notice
50	Wyoming	If you are the owner of record on the title, you must contact the County Clerk in the county that the title was issued to order a duplicate title. If you are the registered owner of record on the registration, you must contact the County Treasurer in the county that the license plate and registration was issued to order a duplicate registration or replace a lost or stolen license plate. The County Clerk's and County Treasurer's telephone numbers are listed on our website at Ittles, Plates and Registration . For a title search, we follow the Federal Privacy Disclosure Act. If you qualify, you may complete our Privacy Disclosure Agreement and pay \$5.00 for each title search. The Agreement is found on our website at Ittle Search